Chuck Coffey
Head Coach - 10th Season

Chuck Coffey rejoined the Union College mountain biking program as he was named the team's head coach in January of 2002.

When the program first formed in the 1998, Coffey served as the Bulldogs' first head coach. After a four-year hiatus, he returned to assume the position once again.

In addition to being familiar to the Bulldog program, Coffey has been involved with cycling and mountain biking for over a decade, having owned a store that specialized in mountain biking for 12 years.

Under Coffey, Union enjoyed its most successful year in 2002. The Bulldogs won the NCCA Division II National Championship - the first team national championship in school history, and Amanda McKay won the NCCA Division II Women's Individual Omnium National Championship. In 2003, the Bulldogs placed third overall at nationals, while McKay won the women's cross country national championship.

Union placed sixth at nationals in 2004. In 2005, Coffey had two riders place in the Top 5 in the Omniums with Chrissy Buerkel placing fourth in the Women's Omnium and Travis Mullen finishing second in the Men's Omnium. Buerkel also won a national championship by winning the women's cross country race. In 2006, McKay captured the short-track national championship as she placed third in the Women's Omnium.

Union recorded a fourth-place finish for the second year in a row in 2007 as Greg Gibson came in fourth in the Men's Omnium standings.

The 2008 NCCA National Championship saw Union finish fifth, however Zach Winn won the Division II Omnium National Championship. Greg Gibson followed in third and three more Bulldogs finished eighth to tenth on the men's side. Rachel Milsop finished fourth in the women's omnium standings.

Coffey has had a total of 12 riders to be named an NCCA All-American.

Since its existence, the Union cycling team has just focused on the mountain biking aspects of the sport: cross country, dual slalom, and downhill.

Cycling Roster
Roster for 2011-12 Cycling Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.Wt.HometownPrevious School
Mike BairdFR  
Brittany BoswellFR  Harrogate, Tenn.
Christian BruceSO  Barbourville, KY
Maria EssweinSR  Perryville, Mo.
Aaron FarmerSR  Middlesboro, Ky.
Chris HammonsSO  
Catherine HarndenSO  Ontario, Canada
Wesley LambersonJR  Limestone, Tenn.
Drake LindseyFR  
Mary MartinezSO  Austin, TX
Brad NelsonSR  Carmel, Ind.
Matt NourmohamadiSR  Laguna Hills, Calif.
Elisa OtterSR  Montpelier, Vermont
Kassie PattersonJR  Sevierville, Tenn.
Casey PowellSO  
Kara UhlFR  Smithville, Texas
Bennett WinnSO  Ontario, Canada
Zach WinnSR  Port Hope, Canada
Head Coach
10th season