NAIA National Championship Tournament Teams

The 1967-68 Bulldogs - 27-6

The 1967-68 men's basketball team was led by a pair of sophomores that guided the Bulldogs to the NAIA National Championship Tournament in Kansas City, Mo., for the first time in school history.

The 2010-11 Bulldogs - 16-16

The 2010-11 men's basketball team snapped a 43-year National Tournament drought for Union College when they qualified for the Division II Tournament in Branson, Mo. after winning the Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Championship. Led by NAIA Third-Team All-American Turrell Morris and second year head coach Sean Gillespie, the Bulldogs finished the year 16-16, bowing out in the first round of the tournament to No. 1 overall seed Walsh, 81-59.

The 2013-14 Bulldogs - 28-5

The 2013-14 men's basketball team recorded quite possibly the greatest season in program history. The Bulldogs steamrolled through the regular season, recording a 16-2 record in the Appalachian Athletic Conference (with both losses coming in overtime) to win their first regular season conference crown of any kind since 1972. The team also reeled off a program-best 13 game winning streak throughout the course of the year. Union then completed the season off with a AAC Tournament crown, as head coach Kevin Burton was named the conference's Coach of the Year, and forward Deante Johnson earned All-AAC First Team honors (Johnson was an NAIA All-American Honorable Mention pick, as well). At the NAIA National Tournament in Point Lookout, Mo., Union narrowly missed out on the program's first win at Nationals, falling in a hearbreaker to St. Thomas (Fla.), 75-72. The team ended the year ranked 23rd in the final NAIA Division II Coaches' Poll, as well.

The 2014-15 Bulldogs - 30-5

The 2014-15 men's basketball team topped the success it had the previous year, winning a program-best 30 games and collecting its first-ever win at the NAIA National Tournament. Union won the Appalachian Athletic Conference regular-season championship with a 17-1 league mark, and reeled off a 21-game win streak. The Bulldogs cruised the conference tournament, winning the three games en route to the title by an average margin of 23.7 points. Union entered the tournament as the No. 15 seed and opened play with a 64-58 win over Northwestern Ohio. Union fell in the second round to No. 2 Embry-Riddle (Fla.) 89-75 and ended the year ranked No. 11. The Bulldogs had four players earn All-AAC First Team honors (Deante Johnson, Fitzgerald White, J.D. Tucker and Dominique Hagans) with Johnson earning NAIA All-American Honorable Mention. Kevin Burton was named AAC Coach of the Year with Gerrard Newby the AAC Defensive Player of the Year.

The 2015-16 Bulldogs - 28-7

The 2015-16 men's basketball team continued the winning trend by capturing both the Appalachian Athletic Conference regular-season and tournament championships for the third year in a row. After posting a 16-2 conference record, Union had a little tougher time getting through the AAC Tournament but captured the title with a 71-57 win over Bluefield (Va.) in the final game. The Bulldogs entered the NAIA National tournament as a No. 2 seed, but they were upset by Cal Maritime (Calif.) 81-70. Union placed three on the All-AAC First Team (J.D. Tucker, Nick Riley and Gerrard Newby) with Tucker earning NAIA All-American Third Team honors and Riley a NAIA All-American Honorable Mention. Newby was once again the AAC Defensive Player of the Year. Union ended the year ranked No. 11.