Swimming - Mon, Jul. 14, 2014
News Photo

BARBOURVILLE, Ky. - Five members of the Union College men's and women's swimming teams were named 2014 College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Individual Scholar First Team All-Americans, the organization announced recently. The award is supported by Nike Swim. 


For the women's team, they were - Kellianne Holck (SO/Island Lake, Ill. ), Eliska Melicharova (SO/Upice, Czech Republic) and Jule Stein (SO/Stuttgart, Germany), while on the men's side, Rafael Bertholo (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) and Jose Jesus Morales (SO/Madrid, Spain) earned the honor.

The Scholar All-America award is presented to college and university swimmers and divers who have achieved a cumulative, or term grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the academic term coinciding with their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA/CCCAA Swimming and Diving Championships and have qualified for and competed at the Championship.

This marks the fifth straight season both the Bulldog men's and women's team have had an individual earn Scholar First Team All-American Honors. With five combined honorees, this also marks the most First Team selections the Union swimming programs has produced in team history.

For the full list of CSCAA Individual Scholar All-Americans, click here

The Union men's and women's swimming teams open the 2014-15 season on Oct. 17, traveling to Cumberlands (Ky.) for a dual meet.