Cycling - Tue, Oct. 18, 2011
News Photo
BANNER ELK, N.C. -- The Union College cycling team found themselves in a familiar spot when action wrapped up at the 2011 Southeastern Collegiate Cycling Conference Championships at Lees McRae this past weekend - in first place.

Union captured their second straight, and seventh overall, SECCC Championship after an impressive performance at the Lees McRae Race. UC ended the season scoring 606 total team points. easily ahead of the second place team in the league, who finished with 463 points. 

Individually, Union had four of the top five podium spots on the men's side, as Wesley Lamberson won the individual conference championship. Brad Nelson was second overall, while Zach Winn placed fourth, and Bennett Winn finished fifth. For the women, two riders finished in the top five on the podium, as Elissa Otter was second, and Kara Uhl was third overall.

"I am very proud of this group of riders," said head coach Chuck Coffey. "They just keep improving each week. They're a great group of men and women."

In the Lees McRae race, Zach Winn won the dual slalom, with Bennett Winn finishing fourth, and Nelson placing fifth. In the men's cross country, Union has two top ten finishers, as Nelson was sixth, and Drake Lindsey was eighth. For the women, Catherine Harnden had the ladies team's best finish in the race, placing second in the downhill.

Union now moves on to the 2011 Cycling Nationals, which will be held in Angel Fire, N.M. The race will take place from Oct. 28th through Oct. 30.