Men's Tennis - Sat, Apr. 30, 2011
News Photo

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. - Nicolas Ernst earned Appalachian Athletic Conference Men's Tennis Player of the Year, the league announced Saturday. This is the second year in a row the Rietheim, Germany, native received the honor.

In all, Union placed five players on the All-Appalachian Athletic Conference First Team. Joining Ernst are Gilles Cornelius (Wijnegem, Belgium), Yvon Haessig (Vancouver, Canada), Bartos Micher (Junginen, Germany) and Pierre Vernin (Le Coteau, France). This is the second year in a row Micher and Vernin made the First Team.

Fredrik Graaner (Stavanger, Norway) earned an All-AAC honorable mention.

In addition to being the Player of the Year, Ernst was Co-Sportsman of the Year along with Justin Wagner of Reinhardt (Ga.).

Ernst, Micher and Vernin also made the Academic All-Conference Team.