Indoor Track & Field - Sun, Feb. 6, 2011
News Photo
BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Union track & field teams took part in the Hoosier Invitational on Saturday at the Harry Gladstein Fieldhouse on the campus of Indiana University.

For the men, the first event of note on the day came in the shot put, where John Luther (Calhoun, Ga.) finished second overall after a throw of 51 feet, seven inches. The mark was a NAIA "A" National Qualifier for Luther and also broke an indoor school record that he set at last week's Tennessee State Invite.

Next in the men's high jump, Corey Niebel (Gray, Ky.) placed fifth overall with a leap of five feet, 8.75 inches (a new indoor school record), while in the same event, Michael Hatfield (Pineville, Ky.) placed eight with a mark of five feet, seven inches.

In the final field event of note for the men, Andrew Johnston (Benton, Ky.) registered a fourth place finish in the pole vault with a clearance of 12 feet, 11.5 inches to break a indoor school record he set last season.

In men's track events, Steven Carron (Chicago, Ill.) registered the lone win of the day in the 600m run after crossing the finish line in 1:22.53, which was a national qualifying "B" mark and a new indoor school record. In the same event, Jaquan Holland (Long Island, N.Y.) placed third, finshing in 1:22.93, which just missed the "B" qualifying mark. In the 3000m run, Issac Kangogo (Eldoret, Kenya) finished second overall with a time of 9:00.12 (an indoor school record), while Kinman finished eighth in the event in 9:29.53.

In women's track events, Naudine Coulson (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) placed third overall in the 60m dash, crossing the finish line in 8.27, while in the 200m dash, Coulson placed eighth overall with a time of 27.40, which was a new indoor record in the event. The last finish of note for the women's team was recorded by Lavin Hadley (St. Thomas, Virgin Islands) in the 400m dash, who placed eighth in 1:04.36 (a new indoor school record).

The Union track & field teams return to action on Saturday, Feb. 12 when they travel to the Depauw Invitational.

Click here to see full results.