Women's Tennis - Sat, Apr. 24, 2010
News Photo

CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. - The Appalachian Athletic Conference named Union sophomore Aurelie Hascoet the AAC Women's Tennis Player of the Year.

The Tham, France, native went undefeated in conference play as she played on the Lady Bulldogs' No. 1 doubles squad and was the team's No. 1 singles player. In addition to staying perfect in the league, Hascoet defeated Trina Slapeka, the 13th-ranked player in the NAIA, 7-5, 3-6, 1-0 (10-7) on April 8.

This is the fourth time a Union player received the honor. In 2006, Paola Gamarra earned the award with Camila Cunha picking up the honor in 2008. Last year, Cunha shared the honor with fellow Lady Bulldog Juliana Negosek.

Joining Hascoet on the All-AAC First Team is Ximena Aguilar (Morelia, Mexico), marking the third year in a row she made the squad.

Mackenzie Prichard (London, Ky.) made the All-Sportsmanship Team, while Christina Prindle (Florence, Ky.) and Elizabeth Earick (Owensville, Ohio) made the Academic All-Conference Team.

The Lady Bulldogs went 3-13 overall and 2-4 in the AAC. Union advanced to the semifinal round of the AAC Tournament before losing to top-seeded Milligan (Tenn.).