Women's Swimming - Fri, Jul. 31, 2009
News Photo

BARBOURVILLE, Ky. - Once again, the Union College women's swim team was named a Scholar Team by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics the organization announced on Friday.

This marks the third straight year in which the Lady Bulldogs have been honored by the NAIA.

The scholar team featured Dena Gonzalez (Brooklyn, N.Y.), Mollie Messmer (Scott City, Mo.) and Kelli Rogers (Elizabethtown, Ky.), Kristina Kirk (Versailles, Ky.), Maria Esswein (Perryville, Mo.), Molly Fittro (Seaside, Calif.), Tamsin Petersen (Johannesburg, South Africa) and Cortni Thrasher (Somerset, Ky.). Gonzalez, Messmer and Rogers have been on all three of the scholar squads.

The Lady Bulldogs, under the direction of head coach Rafael Forti, finished the 2009 NAIA Swimming and Diving National Championships in 12th place after a fourth-place performance at the Appalachian Swimming Conference Championship.

To be recognized, a team must hold at least a 3.0 team grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) during the 2008-09 academic year. A total of 11 women's swimming and diving teams were awarded with the scholar team award, up from eight the previous season. A NAIA record 837 teams were honored.

For more information and a list of teams, click here.